Hearthstone Alley

The Place for Your Hearthstone Needs!

Interview with Wensushi; Winner of the Hearthstone Alley – Tough Cookie Tournament

Hearthstone Alley - Tough Cookie LongAfter that epic grand finals battle over zGGLeoz, we managed to get Wensushi to have an interview with us!

Hi Wensushi! After topping in your group stages of eHL, and now emerging champion of the Hearthstone Alley – Tough Cookie Tournament; how are you feeling?

Definitely feeling great, and of course excited for more Hearthstone games to come in the later stages of the eHL.

How were the games during the tournament, and how did you prepare yourself for it?

The games were challenging, especially with the calibre of players participating, but it was definitely not a surprise. Expecting tough opponents, I did a lot of friendly matches against skilled players, such as bj0rN, and of course played a lot more ranked games.

Unfortunately, most of the veteran players fell out of the tournament rather early. We were actually surprised by it; what were your thoughts?

I was very surprised as well. Most of the veteran players ran control decks very similar to mine, and seeing them drop out that early really got me worried about my games to come. One of my major concerns was that my decks wouldn’t be able to handle the same decks that knocked them out such as the pirate Paladin deck.

And so…barely within a month, and you are already in the limelight with talks about you as one of the rising stars. What are your feelings to that?

First and foremost, I am really happy to hear that. I definitely did not expect myself to get that far within such a short period of time, and having done so is no doubt a personal achievement. However, at the same time, I am definitely feeling the pressure as people will be expecting good performances in the future tournaments that I take part in.

I’m sure you’ll do just fine. So a little bit more about yourself; tell us how did you get started on Hearthstone, and eventually into the competitive scene?

I first started Hearthstone 1 week before the open beta actually began.

I made the decision to play Hearthstone because I used to play a lot of trading card games previously such as Duel Masters. With those Trading Card Games (TCGs) dying off due to lack of popularity, Hearthstone was definitely the best alternative for me. As for the competitive scene, I have always strived to be competitive in the games that I played (E.g. League of Legends and CS1.6), but wasn’t really able to get very far with those, with the best achievement being a 4th placing in a LoL ARAM tournament held a year back.

With Hearthstone having so much potential of becoming a competitive game, I definitely hope to get some experience playing in its local competitive scene.

Is there anyone that you look up to and learn a lot from?

I definitely look up to Trump, as I watch almost every single one of his arena videos. While I am not an arena player myself, I am able to gain valuable insights on how to make the best out of my plays and incorporate them to my constructed playstyle.

What is your favourite Class and Card?

My favourite class will be Druid and favourite card is Leeroy Jenkins.

It seems like you’re now a part of ManaSurge, which is a new team that has been getting some attention. Care to tell us more about your thoughts and expectations?

It feels great to be on one of the strongest, if not the strongest team in Singapore right now.I am definitely looking forward to spending time training together with team as well as to take part in team tournaments to come.

Judging by the strength of the rest of the players on the team, I am expecting the team to go really far in the local scene and possibly even make on appearance internationally. For those who wish to know more about our team ManaSurge, do look us up!

“Would you like to tell us more about your team members?

I am a new player not only on the team, but also to the Hearthstone competitive scene and thus am only familiar with half of the members on the team. To be fair, I will only comment on those I know.

bj0rN was one of the first players I added on Hearthstone back when I first started out. We had a lot of friendly matches together and being one of the toughest opponents I have faced, the games helped me improve at a rate constructed rank isn’t able to offer. That said, he was a major factor in not only helping me pick up the game, but also improve to the level of a competitive player within such a short period of time.

Allura is a player I got to know recently from the Hearthstone Alley – Tough Cookie Tournament. Although I did not get to play against him during the tournament, the meeting forged friendship between us and I was able to add him up in game and have friendly matches subsequently.

Kero is one of the people who kind of influenced me into starting out on Hearthstone. Prior to Hearthstone, I have known him from League of Legends, and having him on my Facebook gave me a lot of exposure to the Hearthstone content he constantly posted. Seeing how the game was able to go competitive despite being in Beta, I decided to give it a shot and it was definitely a great decision to.

Last but not least, Equivocal. I looked up to him a lot back when he was playing League of Legends as part of SGS. Being a competitive player in Singapore is no easy task, and I definitely respect him for managing it so well. Seeing him play Hearthstone is quite a big surprise and while I have yet to play against him, I am definitely looking forward to it.

Thank you for taking the time to do this interview with us. Any shout outs or anything else you will like to add on?

Shout out to Hearthstone Alley for the awesome tournaments, Babael for being a great caster and lastly, thanks for taking the time to interview me.

Stay tuned to Hearthstone Alley, or our Facebook and Twitter for the latest Hearthstone and community news!

– bj0rN

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2014 by in Interviews.

Categories

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 76,567 Views

Calendar

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow me on Twitter

